#### PRIZE

#### Drs. Hwang Sungwook, Kayoko Kobayashi, Zhai Shengcheng and Professor Junji Sugiyama were awarded the Journal of Wood Science Best Paper Award by Japan Wood Research Society on 15 March 2019

Drs. Hwang Sungwook, Kayoko kobayashi, Zhai Shengcheng and Professor Junji Sugiyama were awarded the Journal of Wood Science Best Paper Award by Japan Wood Research Society on 15 March 2019 for their novel paper titled "Automated identification of Lauraceae by scale-invariant feature transform", Journal of Wood Science, Vol.64, No.2.

## Dr. Kayoko Kobayashi was awarded the Encouragement Award by the Cellulose Society of Japan on 5 July 2018

Dr. Kayoko Kobayashi was awarded the Encouragement Award by the Cellulose Society of Japan on 5 July 2018 for her novel research "Structure and properties of hydrated crystalline polysaccharides".

# Mr. Yuki Tokunaga was awarded the Poster Prize Award by the 63<sup>rd</sup> Lignin Symposium

On 2 November 2018, Mr. Yuki Tokunaga was presented with the Poster Prize Award at the 63<sup>rd</sup> lignin symposium for his presentation on NMR analysis of adsorption between lignin and carbohydrate-binding module of cellulase.

# Mr. Chihiro Kimura was awarded the Student Poster Competition Award by the WST/JWRS International Convention

On 9 November 2018, Mr. Chihiro Kimura was presented with the 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Student Poster Competition Award at the 2018 Society of Wood Science and Technology (SWST)/the Japan Wood Research Society (JWRS) International Convention for his study on production of antiviral compounds from sugarcane bagasse by microwave reaction.

#### Dr. Yuri Takeda was awarded the Japan Wood Research Society Outstanding Woman Student Award for 2018 by the Japan Wood Research Society

On 26 January 2019, Dr. Yuri Takeda was awarded the Japan Wood Research Society Outstanding Woman Student Award for 2018 for her outstanding research achievements related to metabolic engineering studies toward elucidation of the relationship between lignin aromatic composition and lignocellulose usability.

# Mr. Subir Kumar Biswas won 1<sup>st</sup> Prize in the Student Poster Competition, 2018 Joint Convention of the Society of Wood Science and Technology, USA (SWST) and the Japan Wood Research Society (JWRS)

Mr. Subir Kumar Biswas won 1<sup>st</sup> Prize in the Student Poster Competition in the Joint Convention of the Society of Wood Science and Technology, USA (SWST) and the Japan Wood Research Society (JWRS) held in Nagoya in November 2018 for the poster titled "Transparent Polymer Nanocomposites Reinforced with Immiscible Nanocelluloses Fabricated via a Water-Based Pathway".

# Mr. Subir Kumar Biswas was awarded the Student Travel Grant by the Society of Wood Science and Technology, USA (SWST)

The Student Travel Grant was awarded to Mr. Subir Kumar Biswas by the Society of Wood Science and

#### PRIZE

Technology, USA (SWST) to present his poster titled "Transparent Polymer Nanocomposites Reinforced with Immiscible Nanocelluloses Fabricated via a Water-Based Pathway" in the Joint Convention of the Society of Wood Science and Technology, USA (SWST) and the Japan Wood Research Society (JWRS) held in Nagoya in November 2018.

#### Professor Hiroshi Isoda and his laboratory received 8th Seismic Retrofitting Architectural Excellence Award from Japan Building Disaster Prevention Association

On 19 February 2019, Professor Isoda and his laboratory received 8th Seismic Retrofitting Architectural Excellence Award from Japan Building Disaster Prevention Association by seismic retrofitting design and construction of Shima Kanko Hotel "The Classic and The Club". They were historically valuable buildings originally designed by the Architect, Togo Murano.

#### Dr. Seiji Zenitani received Tanakadate Award from Society of Geomagnetism and Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences

On May 23, 2018, Dr. Seiji Zenitani received Tanakadate Award from Society of Geomagnetism and Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences (SGEPSS) for study of micro physical processes in magnetic reconnection employing new approaches.

#### Mr. Takeshi Nogi received ISSS Prize

On September 13, 2018, Mr. Takeshi Nogi was awarded ISSS Prize for his outstanding presentation on two-dimensional particle simulation of whistler mode chorus wave damping through Landau resonance in ISSS-13 (The 13th International School/Symposium for Space Simulations).

## Mr. Ryo Mochizuki was awarded the Best Presentation Award at Thailand Japan Microwave 2018 (TJMW2018)

On June 27-29, 2018, Mr. Ryo Mochizuki was awarded the Best Presentation Award for his poster presentation titled "Novel Length Independent Beltrami Resonators Using Corrugated Reflectors" at Thailand Japan Microwave 2018 (TJMW2018).

# Mr. Yuta Nakamoto was awarded the Best Presentation Award at Thailand Japan Microwave 2018 (TJMW2018)

On June 27-29, 2018, Mr. Ryo Mochizuki was awarded the Best Presentation Award for his poster presentation titled "Study on a Microwave Power Transfer System to a Stratospheric Platform Airship" at Thailand Japan Microwave 2018 (TJMW2018).

#### Mr. Isami Sato was awarded WTC (Wakate Technical Committee) Best Presentation Award at 2018 English Presentation Workshop by IEEE Microwave Theory and Technique Society (MTT-S) Kansai Chapter

On October 13, 2018, Mr. Isami Sato was awarded WTC (Wakate Technical Committee) Best Presentation Award for his presentation titled "Basic Study for Wireless Power Transfer to a Pipeline Inspection Robot" at 2018 English Presentation Workshop by IEEE Microwave Theory and Technique Society (MTT-S) Kansai Chapter.

#### PRIZE

#### Mr. Takashi Hirakawa was awarded the Student Award, at 2018 Asia Wireless Power Transfer Workshop

On November 2-4, 2018, Mr. Takashi Hirakawa was awarded the Student Award for his presentation titled "Theoretical Analysis of the Simple Single Shunt Rectifier" at 2018 Asia Wireless Power Transfer Workshop.

## Mr. Seishiro Kojima was awarded the Best Presentation Award at IEEE AP-S Kansai Joint Chapter Workshop

On December 8, 2018, Mr. Seishiro Kojima was awarded the Best Presentation Award for his poster presentation in Japanese titled "Low Side Lobe Flat Beamforming by Synthesizing Chebyshev Beams for High Efficient Microwave Power Transfer" at IEEE AP-S Kansai Joint Chapter Workshop.

### Mr. Taichi Sasaki was awarded the Best Presentation Award at IEEE AP-S Kansai Joint Chapter Workshop

On December 8, 2018, Mr. Taichi Sasaki was awarded the Best Presentation Award for his poster presentation in Japanese titled "Study on Multipath Retrodirective for Microwave Power Transmission" at IEEE AP-S Kansai Joint Chapter Workshop.

# Mr. Tatsumasa Hagiwara was awarded the Best Student Paper Award at the Asia-Pacific International Symposium on Aerospace Technology, 2018

On October 17, 2018, Mr. Tatsumasa Hagiwara was awarded the Best Student Paper Award for his presentation titled "Performance Evaluation of Magnetic Nozzle by using thermal plasma" at the Asia-Pacific International Symposium on Aerospace Technology.